Facebook Legacy Contact – What Happens to Your Account After You Die ?

1
269

Facebook Legacy Contact is a feature on Facebook that allows someone to gain control of your account and memorialize or delete it in the event of your death.

To be honest, I personally, actually felt a little sad by going over this feature because nobody likes to think about their death. But it’s something that we all must prepare for. This new feature on facebook makes it much easier for family members or friends or people you choose to take care of your Facebook account after you pass away.

[wp_ad_camp_3]

The social network announced this new feature Thursday that allows Facebook users to designate a specific friend as users’ Facebook Legacy Contact who will be allowed to access their account and pin a post on their Timeline after they die.

“Until now, when someone passed away, we offered a basic memorialized account which was VIEW-ABLE, but could not be managed by anyone. By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realized there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death.”

– THE FACEBOOK TEAM WROTE IN A BLOG POST

What your Facebook Legacy Contact can do

Your Facebook Legacy Contact won’t be able to log in as you or read your private messages, but the contact will be able to do the followings:

  • Pin a post to display at the top of your memorialized Timeline (to share a final message or notification about a memorial service)
  • Update your Profile Picture and Cover Photo
  • Respond to new Friend Requests
  • Download an archive of your photos, posts, and profile information that you shared on Facebook

What Your Facebook Legacy Contact can’t do

  • Log into your account
  • Remove or change past posts, photos and other things shared on your Timeline
  • Read messages you’ve sent to other friends
  • Remove any of your friends

SEE ALSO : 10 Facebook Tricks You Must Know

How to activate Facebook Legacy Contact feature?

[wp_ad_camp_5]

In order to choose your Facebook Legacy Contact, follow the following steps:

1. Log into your facebook account and open ‘Settings’.

facebook-legacy-contact-settings

2. Click on ‘Security’ Tab to the left sidebar and select “legacy contact” at the bottom of the page.

select-facebook-legacy-contact

3. Submit the name of your specific Facebook friend who will be able to control certain aspects of your page after you die.

facebook-legacy-contact

4. Choose the options you want your Facebook Legacy Contact to have.

5. Finally, the system will offer an option to send a message to that person, letting them know about their important new tasks.


Alternatively, users can also let Facebook know if they’d prefer to have their account deleted after they pass away.

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY